MARYLAND CORRECTIONAL TRAINING COMMISSION Minutes – 223rd Meeting – April 16, 2025

6852 4th Street, Sykesville, MD 21784

MEMBERS PRESENT

Carolyn J. Scruggs, Secretary, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services (Chair) Vincent Schiraldi, Secretary, Department of Juvenile Services Anthony Gaskins, Chief of Staff, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services Rainier Harvey, representing the Deputy Secretary of Operations, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services Annie Harvey, Deputy Secretary of Operations, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services Ryan Ross, Director, Charles County Detention Center, President, Maryland Correctional Administrators Association (Vice Chair) Major Dennis Harmon, representing, President, Maryland Sheriffs' Association Nicole Ebb, President, Maryland Criminal Justice Association Daryl Washington, Assistant Superintendent, Department of Juveniles Services Margaret Chippendale, Director, Howard County Corrections, Central Region Representative Hyanna Barnett, Captain, Regional Representative Fateema Mobley, Captain, Regional Representative (virtual)

MEMBERS ABSENT

Adina Levi, Deputy Secretary of Residential Services, Department of Juvenile Services Sheriff Jim DeWees, President, Maryland Sheriffs' Association Anthony G. Brown, Attorney General Dr. Beverly O'Bryant, representing the President, Coppin State University Ayodele Okunoren, Sergeant, Correctional Officer of the State

STAFF PRESENT

Kate Gossard, Executive Director, Public Safety Education & Training Center Matthew Mellady, Correctional Training Commission, Deputy Director Elise Ice, Office of the Attorney General Katie Johnson, Registrar (Media) Carrie Layman, Executive Assistant (Recorder) Royal Bacote, Certification Unit Kelly Brauning, Certification Administrator Stephanie Cain, Compliance Administrator Kevin Duerling, Policy & Processes William Faherty, Compliance Unit Joan Henard, Certification Unit Violet Jackson, Director, Correctional Training Lucy Lyles, Director, Certification & Compliance Brittany Rohe, Certification Unit Wayne Silver, Executive Director, Police Training & Standards Commission Kelly Spurgeon, Certification Unit Lora Tracy, Compliance Unit

GUESTS

Yolanda Bethea, Division of Parole & Probation Rochelle Perry, Division of Parole & Probation Sha-Keara Pinkney, Department of Public Safety & Correctional Services Matthew Dixon, Charles County Detention Center Warden Frederick Abello, Montgomery County Department of Correctional Rehabilitation Bryan Rouzee, Montgomery County Department of Correctional Rehabilitation The 223rd meeting of the Correctional Training Commission (CTC) was called to order by the Chair Secretary Scruggs, at 10:00 a.m. at the Public Safety Education and Training Center (Center), Sykesville, Maryland. Secretary Scruggs asked all members, staff, and guests to introduce themselves. A quorum was present.

The agenda and subsequent action(s) follow:

1. Approval of Minutes from the January 15, 2025 Commission meeting.

Secretary Scruggs asked the members to review the minutes.

A MOTION to approve the minutes from the January 15, 2025 meeting was made by Capt. Barnett: SECONDED: Deputy Secretary Harvey. The MOTION carried.

Recorder's Note: Secretary Schiraldi arrived at 10:05am.

2. Training and Standards Report Discussion

Deputy Director Mellady reviewed the data from the report, and answered questions from Commission members regarding the non-compliance figures.

3. Legal Issues

Assistant Attorney General Ice stated there were no legal issues.

4. Old Business

a. Montgomery County Department of Correctional Rehabilitation Academy Audit Results Compliance Administrator Cain informed the Commission members that the audit results of the Montgomery County Correctional Academy were satisfactory. Another audit will be completed after the first class is graduated.

b. Correctional Training Commission Executive Director Update

Director Gossard provided that Daedra Carrio Westby was selected as the new part-time Correctional Training Commission Executive Director. She will begin in May and her resume will be sent to Commission members.

c. Revocation Dates

Director Gossard noted that a date needs to be selected for the next revocation hearing. The members were polled for their availability between July 22nd and July 23rd. A calendar invitation will be sent once the date is confirmed, and it's expected to take one day only.

5. New Business

a. COMAR FTO Certification Requirements

Deputy Director Mellady provided an overview of the current field training requirements for mandated correctional officer positions. The Commission members discussed the value of field training prior to attending the academy, and the importance of creating certification requirements for field training and field training instructors.

A MOTION for Commission staff to draft language for certification of field training courses and instructors for CTC review was made by Director Ross: SECONDED: Secretary Schiraldi. The MOTION carried.

b. DPP Training Objective Review 22.01.04, Security Threat Groups

Deputy Director Mellady drew Commission members' attention to the Parole & Probation agent academy objective that mentions the Maryland GANGNET database. This database is no longer active so the recommendation is to edit the language to remove the reference.

A MOTION to change the objective language to "The Trainee will demonstrate ability in accessing available database related to gang data given various situations and conditions" was made by Capt. Barnett: SECONDED: Deputy Secretary Harvey. The MOTION carried.

A MOTION was made by Mr. Gaskins to adjourn to a closed session: SECONDED: Deputy Secretary Harvey. The MOTION carried unanimously.

Recorder's Note: The meeting adjourned to a closed session at 10:38 a.m.

Members voting in closed session: Capt. Barnett; Director Chippendale; Major Harmon, Ms. Ebb, Mr. Gaskins, Deputy Secretary Harvey, Mr. R. Harvey, Capt. Mobley, Director Ross, Secretary Schiraldi, Mr. Washington, Secretary Scruggs

Persons attending closed session: In addition to voting Commission Members: Executive Director Kate Gossard: Deputy Director Mellady; Director Lyles; AAG Elise Ice; Carrie Layman; Katie Johnson.

Authority under § 3-305 for the closed session: Personnel matters

Topic discussed: Request for recertification was denied to the Montgomery County Department of Correctional Rehabilitation

A MOTION was made by Mr. Gaskins to adjourn to an open session: SECONDED: Deputy Secretary Harvey. The MOTION carried unanimously.

Recorder's Note: This concluded the closed session. The meeting adjourned to an open session at 11:30 a.m.

Ms. Layman announced the outcome of the items heard in closed session.

A MOTION to adjourn was made by Mr. R. Harvey: SECONDED: Deputy Secretary Harvey. The MOTION carried. The meeting adjourned at 11:32 a.m.

These "minutes" are a synopsis of the Commission's discussion and decisions and <u>not</u> a verbatim rendering of the proceedings.